irma stern museum

I asked an older friend recently what are the things I should see in Cape Town that are off the beaten path. After thinking a while, his first suggestion was Irma Stern Museum (Cecil Rd, Rosebank).

I went a couple days ago to check it out. After paying the slight entrance fee (R10), I walked through the garden into the house. All the rooms are full of pieces she painted or those collected by her. It ends up being a nice mix of her paintings, may of which had a focus on Africa; African, European and Asian art of all sorts; and antique furniture. But the art doesn’t stop at that: she even painted most of the doorways in the house!

Upstairs is a gallery exhibiting (and selling) current work from South African artists. When I was there, there was a nice exhibit of illustrations by Fiona Moodie but I believe that ended shortly afterward.

UCT Irma Stern Museum
Cecil Road (x Chapel Rd.), Rosebank
021 685 5686
Tues – Sat 10a – 5pm
R10 (discounts R5)
www.irmastern.co.za

2 responses to “irma stern museum

  1. I am not sure where you have been all my life …. but damn I am excited! Love this blog, really love it – definitely going to be one of my favourites. You have got so many great places featured here!